Status Update

You may have noticed that I’ve been away from the blog for the past month. The fact that 30 days is the minimum time required for aliens to clone a fully-grown human is purely a coincidence. I just had something pop up at work, and then decided to spend my few spare hours planting a garden. I can’t remember the last time I spent an entire growing season in one country, so having a garden is a treat for me.

Now, it’s back to the business of searching for great science fiction. Here are the next few stories I plan to review:

Misha Burnett gave me an audiobook of his third novel, The Worms Of Heaven. I’ve already reviewed the two previous novels, Catskinner’s Book and Cannibal Hearts.

The Benevolence Archives, Vol. 1, by Luther Siler.

Grey Enigmas by Gareth Lewis. I enjoyed his short story Spikebreaker, so I decided to read this slightly longer work.

Few Are Chosen, K’Barthan Series: Part 1 by M T McGuire. I’m thinking of doing something completely different with this one.

I’ve only read the first story of the collection Leyfarers and Wayfarers by G L Francis, but I’m looking forward to the rest of it.

After those write-ups, I have a number of miscellaneous short stories I plan to review. Also, because I feel I should be doing more to help independent authors promote their work, I’m planning to do author interviews. Misha Burnett has already agreed to be the first subject.

Due to time constraints, I usually review audiobooks or short stories, but I’m thinking of setting aside the time to read a novel. Here are the top three I’m considering:

Pearseus, Rise of the Prince by Nick Rossis.

Something by C S Boyack. I haven’t decided which of his books I’d like to try first.

The Remnant by Paul Spence.

8 comments

  1. Welcome back, and many thanks for considering my work! I’ll be happy to send you Rise, as I’m not sure if you’ve got the latest version (July 14).

    BTW, I seem to remember that pod people also grew in gardens… A coincidence, I’m sure.

    1. I’m sensing a novel – “Mothership Clones vs. the Pod People”

      1. Ooh, ooh, I call pod people. That way I can point at you and go, “Eeeeee” in a very high-pitched voice?

  2. A garden is always cool isn’t it, I’ve been spending a fair bit of time in mine, too. Thank you so much for the mention I am honoured and I’ll wait with bated breath to see what ‘something completely different’ is.

    Cheers

    MTM

  3. Thanks for considering my work. I’ll be happy to gift you whatever you decide upon. No strings attached. Just drop me a comment and we’ll arrange it.

  4. Glad to see you back!
    I’ve been missing for a little while, too, but no worries about possible alien conversion. Several folks already told me I was kicked off a short UFO. Apparently, it’s not coming back for me, so I’m marooned on Earth. 😉
    And thank you for considering my work and mentioning it in your line-up.

  5. Well, good to have you and your alien pod clone back, though.

  6. Welcome back!

    For your consideration. A friend of mine recently posted (spacebook) on the concept of “lasagna gardening” wherein only layers of pure organic materials are used. We definitely need those pod clones all-natural.

    You will be assimilated;
    -matt

Leave a Reply

