Microfiction: 101 Fiction

For the next six weeks, I’ll be overwhelmed by career-related stuff.  I have detailed reviews and “settings” articles I’m eager to write, but I’m going to stick to shorter posts until things slow down.  This seems like an obvious time for a couple of posts about microfiction (100 words or less) and flash fiction (1,000 words or less).

I wrote a few microfiction stories recently, and I’m planning to submit them to a contest or blog, hoping to draw a few new readers to this site.  I decided my first target would be 101 fiction, but unfortunately their deadline just passed, and it will be October before submissions open again.  I will probably wait, but I’m open to other suggestions.

In the meantime, I went through the 101 fiction site, choosing my three favorite stories in both the science fiction and fantasy categories.  Check them out, they’re only 100 words each.

My choices for science fiction:  Blood, Ship, and Parallel.  (One-word titles are required at 101 fiction.)

My choices for fantasy:  Dress, Vessel, and Moonlight.

11 comments

  1. I just read your choices – a fine selection indeed!

  2. Superb choice! Many thanks for going to the trouble to provide the links:)

  3. Hey PDC, you might want to check out Grammar Ghoul Press – a friend of mine runs it and they feature weekly microfiction and flash fiction challenges. I haven’t had time for it myself but it looks like a lot of fun.

  4. Sorry, link is http://www.grammarghoulpress.com/ in case you wanted to check it out.

    1. Thanks, sue. I looked it over briefly, it looks interesting. When my schedule lightens up, I’ll see if one of their prompts sparks me to write some more microfiction.

  5. I really enjoyed Parallel.

  6. They have a post saying they’re accepting submissions:”From April 15th to May 15th we want your teeniest tiniest shiniest stories.” “This will be the last issue of our second year as a quarterly. A year of colour. Blue, Black & White, Green. And now, finally: Red.” and “You don’t have to use the word ‘red’ in the story, but the colour needs to be present in some form. The title itself cannot be ‘red’.” See the post here: http://bit.ly/1d5439c

    Hope this helps!
    — John

    1. Yes, I saw that and put it on my twitter feed. I’ve submitted two stories, one science fiction and one fantasy. Are you going to give it a shot?

      1. I’m not sure. I’ll check it out.

  7. […] an earlier post, I linked to my six favorite microfiction stories at 101 Fiction.  The site opened to […]

Leave a Reply

