A Semi-Traditional Thanksgiving

It’s just my wife and I (and our little dog) for Thanksgiving this year. My other family members who live here are traveling, but I decided it wasn’t practical for me. I worked late last night, flying on Thanksgiving is a nightmare, and I have two papers to work on for grad school.

thanksgiving12

My employer gave me a turkey, but that would have been too much food for us. I gave it to the lady who used to help us care for my grandmother. So, we had a store-bought chicken, but it was smoked, and delicious. Popcorn isn’t a traditional thanksgiving food, but it’s “new world” just like turkey and sweet potatoes. I don’t know the origin of strawberries, but my wife wanted some.

carving12b A certain family member in the background is REALLY into Thanksgiving.

I’ve had a few less-traditional Thanksgiving dinners while living overseas — KFC was probably the closest I got, and I didn’t get any time off work. But I have gotten time off for Deepavali, Idul Fitri, and Chinese New Year.

If you’re an American, I hope you’re spending Thanksgiving with your family, and you have some delicious food. If you’re not American, you need to get this holiday in your country!

14 comments

  1. It looks yummy! When I saw the bottle of tea, I thought you were living in Japan… Good luck with your papers.

    1. My wife is a fan of all things Japanese, and would enjoy living there, but unless you’re an English teacher, the language presents a pretty big obstacle to employment. I’ve taken her on a trip to Japan before, and will probably do so again in the future.

  2. That chicken looks about the right size, and pretty darned good. Hope you had a great day.

    1. I had enough left over for a one-person meal today. It was a good day, although I did miss my family’s home-made rolls!

  3. Popcorn sounds really good right about now…

    1. I had some again today, while watching a rented movie with my wife.

  4. Yum, I am now hungry. Happy Thanksgiving from Europe!

    1. Thanks! This is the first of our two big holidays for getting together with family and eating a big meal. Christmas is coming soon…

  5. Just caught up with your Thanksgiving post. The chicken looks great. I think popcorn belongs.

    1. I’m just seeing your comment now. Can’t find the comments screen in the new wordpress interface.

      1. Hmmmm. Well that is a problem. 🙂

  6. My wife went to Texas so it was just me at home. I very strongly considered frying a turkey just for myself, but made chili instead.

    1. Turkey chili could become the new Thanksgiving tradition.

  7. […] our not-quite-traditional Thanksgiving, I wanted a more-traditional Christmas.  December turned out to be a very busy month at work and […]

Leave a Reply

