Versatile/Inspiring Blogger Award

versatile-blogger

Inspiring

Sue Archer, Arcane Halloween, and Jacqueline Crawley nominated me for awards earlier this year. The awards are the Versatile Blogger Award and the Very Inspiring Blogger Award (I’m glad I wasn’t placed into the minor leagues of the simply “Inspiring Blogger Award”). Both of these awards work in a similar manner: the awarded bloggers list seven interesting things about themselves, and then pass on the award to a whopping fifteen other blogs. So, I’m combining the two awards, and will begin with seven things about myself:

1) I was one of the original “Children of the Corn”.
2) My nickname is “Clamslayer”.
3) My bachelor’s party was chasing rhinos at night during a thunderstorm.
4) My wife and I were born on nearly opposite sides of the world.
5) My grandfathers were pilots during WWII: one in Europe, one in the Pacific.
6) I have more master’s degrees than anyone should.
7) I have snorkeled the Seven Seas (or haven’t, depending on definition).

I’m passing the award on to the following blogs, should their authors wish to carry the torch:

Joseph Nebus runs two WordPress blogs: Nebus Research and Nebus Humor. If mathematics and comic strips isn’t a versatile enough combination for you, then consider that he sometimes posts about comic strips which are about mathematics! Even if you think you’re not interested in math, you might like some of his latest posts about estimating the number of goldfish in his backyard pond. Another post has left the phrase “assume a spherical cow” stuck in my head.

The Books That Time Forgot (one of my favorite blog names) is primarily a book review blog, but still shows great versatility, by discussing a mix of relatively older works (such as those of Edgar Rice Burroughs) and 1980s World War III / apocalyptic pulp novels. I enjoy the short plot summary format; some stories come across as silly when their plots are boiled down – Tarzan discovers a lost city of left-handed people, seduces its queen, and runs off with her magic gemstone as the city is destroyed by a volcano. Okay, I admit I made that up, but you get the idea.

From Couch to Moon (another great blog name) is also a book blog, primarily reviewing older science fiction and fantasy. However, the blog is versatile in reviewing books from different time periods, and discussing past and present science fiction awards. At times, the blog even wanders near the edge of the dark forest known as “literature”, a place from which I escaped in my childhood only with the help of the mysterious Mr. Cliff.

Books, Brains, and Beer is written by a friend of Couch to Moon (or perhaps they’re mortal enemies; I’m not good at reading people). If you like From Couch to Moon, then you’ll probably like this blog as well. It seems to focus a bit more on modern books, and might wander a bit deeper into that dark forest. UPDATE – after I began working on this post, I noticed that the blog had been closed; I’m recommending it anyway as the posts are still available, and there’s always a chance the closure will be reversed.

Science Fiction and Other Suspect Ruminations also does book reviews, often of older science fiction, but also posts themed collections of cover art images, which I’ve really enjoyed.

At Battered, Tattered, Yellowed, and Creased, Admiral Ironbombs mixes in reviews of hard-boiled crime novels (and a few other genres) with his science fiction and fantasy reviews.

Sean Munger is pretty much the definition of a versatile blogger. I primarily enjoy reading the history-related articles on his blog, but he also blogs about wine, heavy metal music, writing, volcanoes, and who-knows-what-else.

James Pailly has two blogs, Planet Pailly and Tomorrow News Network. Planet Pailly is primarily science-related, and the Tomorrow News Network is for his writing. Planet Pailly currently has a couple of short articles about the planet Mercury that are worth checking out.

Equinoxio presents interesting images and topics from all over the world. It might be a useful site to visit if you’re looking for some writing inspiration.

North of Andover is where Thomas Weaver posts (mostly) about writing-related topics, but from an editor’s perspective. I love having editors follow my blog, because they aren’t afraid to let me know when I’ve missed a point, or missed THE point.

I’m sure Nicholas Rossis has been nominated for these awards before, but I’m going to mention him here anyway. His blog includes writing and marketing advice for self-published authors, and he often gives away his own stories.

SC Flynn has a variety of posts over at SCy-Fy, most recently a series of interviews with science fiction podcasters and bloggers. If you’re looking for more blogs or podcasts to follow, SCy-Fy has several posts of links, accessible from the top menu.

MarzAat seems to pop up here with an answer any time I pose a question, and he has a diverse book blog as well. I’ve enjoyed his writing about Doc Savage, and I see that he’s also posted reviews of more recent works (Peter F. Hamilton).

All of these sites, along with a few other blogs of interest, can also be found in my right-hand column under “Auxiliary Forces”.

If your blog is versatile, or you know of another blog I ought to follow, feel free to post a link to it in the comments section. Also, if you’ve been following the blog for a while and I’ve neglected to add you to my auxiliaries, let me know.

18 comments

  1. Congratulations on the award, and thanks kindly for the nomination.

    1. No problem, your have a couple of unique blogs.

  2. Now I am wondering how many master’s degrees you have, and what they are in! You’ve provided a great list of blogs here, I will be sure to go check them out. 🙂

    1. Ah, you chose the one of the seven that I’m ashamed of. I’m too embarrassed to give a count, but I’ll say they are in the broad fields of Business and the Biological Sciences.

      1. As someone who has too much education myself (English, Psychology, Human Resources, Securities, Publishing…), you have my sympathies! Seriously, I think it’s a great thing to be continually learning. I don’t think I’m ever going to stop doing that, whether it’s through formal schooling or otherwise.

  3. fromcouchtomoon · · Reply

    Wow and thanks! For the record, BBB and I are complete and utter mortal enemies.

    1. fromcouchtomoon · · Reply

      Oh, and all great selections, by the way. I’m a big fan of a lot of these blogs!

  4. Congratulations on this prestigious award! I think it’s great that you received some well-deserved recognition given your ongoing effort to save our planet from bad science fiction. I am glad that you were not nominated for the Merely Inspiring Blogger Award, and thank you for choosing to recognize me as a Versatile and/or Very Inspiring Blogger. I see I am in good company.

    1. Now I want to start my own blog award. The so-so blog award? The slightly better than average blog award?

  5. Thanks for the nomination. I am honored to be included with such esteemed bloggers.

    1. Thank you for bringing out those forgotten books!

  6. Yay – a nomination! That’s so kind of you, thank you and congrats for your own awards! 🙂

    I know some people are tired of awards, but I love them. Going through one’s list of co-nominees is the best way to find new blogs to follow.

  7. Your award has kindly been accepted, as you can see by your mention and link on http://nicholasrossis.me/awards/

    I love the thought of your and the missus being born at opposite sites on Earth. It warms this ol’ romantic’s heart that you met, fell in love and got married. 🙂 As for the rhinos, this surely is a post in the making…

    Thanks again!

    1. I think I’ve been to most of the sites on your award page, but I’ll double-check that I haven’t missed any.

      I guess it’s just started to seem normal to us, but I guess it is pretty incredible that we found each other!

      I think I’ll hold off a while on the rhino post, but maybe after listening to my audiobook of “The Last Rhinos” I’ll be inspired….

      1. Lol – excellent! 😀

  8. […] up on my blog readin’ and writin’ after my return, I was surprised to see that Planetary Defense Commander nominated me for a Versatile Blogger […]

  9. A very belated thanks for the award.

    My most recent post has accepted the honor, revealed bone chillingly secrets about my life, and incriminated others with the officers of the Panopticon.

Leave a comment