Ichabod Brooks

Ichabod Brooks is a character written by fantasy author and fellow blogger Charles Yallowitz.  He’s a monster-hunter who’s been around the block a few times and knows the monster-hunting game inside and out.  Ichabod Brooks is, I mean.  I have no first-hand knowledge of Charles Yallowitz’s monster-hunting credentials.

I’ve only read the first short story featuring Ichabod, but I’ve bought the rest and am looking forward to them.  For me, he brings to mind a low-tech version of MHI crossed with that older cop from every cop movie or TV show who doesn’t want to work with a partner.  (See the book cover below.  He doesn’t always get what he wants.)

The first Ichabod Brooks short story is a stand-alone, just 99 cents at Amazon. When I picked it up, I was afraid that the short story format wouldn’t work as well in a medieval-fantasy genre as it does in science fiction, but the story kept me interested and I enjoyed it.

Ichabod1Ichabod Brooks and the City of Beasts.

An additional 11 Ichabod Brooks stories are collected in an anthology, $2.99 at Amazon.  I’m going to read it as soon as I finish my magazine quest, so you can expect to see a review in the future.

Ichabod2The Life & Times of Ichabod Brooks.

8 comments

  1. Ichabod Brooks. Thats a badass name.

    Monster hunter on adventures? Reminds me of Geralt of Rivia from the Witcher series. I might review that soon!

    1. I haven’t read any Witcher, so it will be interesting to read your review. I’ve heard about it a number of times, probably because of the video game angle.

  2. Thanks for the review. Honestly, I haven’t done any monster hunting since childhood. Take one giant leap off the top of the swing set to hit a griffin and your parents retire you.

    1. Well, at least you gave it a shot.

      1. True. The wooden sword and a jump rope that I still contend is a decent whip is somewhere around here.

  3. So funny–I’m actually reading it at the moment. Like you, I had my worries about how well the short story format would work in fantasy, but I needn’t have worried: Charles is an amazing author who pulls it off without even trying (or at least it feels that way).

    1. I’m looking forward to finishing my other reading so I can get to the collection. Work has really been getting in the way of reading lately!

      1. Tell me about it. Sigh…

Leave a Reply

