Planetary Award Winners – 2016

The winners of the 2016 Planetary Awards have been announced.

thunesvision50

The winning short story was “Athan and the Priestess” from the collection Thune’s Vision by Schuyler Hernstrom.  I’ve purchased a copy, and I’ll review it once I’ve read the entire book.  I’ve only read the winning story so far, but I enjoyed it.  I found it very Conan-esque, so if you enjoyed Conan stories or movies in the past, I think you might like it as well.

The winning novel was Swan Knight’s Son by John C Wright.  I haven’t read it, so if you have, feel free to leave a comment with your thoughts.

swanknightsson80

A final thought on this year’s awards:  although the number of voters was up this year, the ratio of bloggers who voted to bloggers who were aware of the award was again very low.  I never imagined that asking book bloggers to blog about books (and in the process, possibly gain some new readers) would be a hard sell.  The only theory I can come up with is that people are gun-shy after reading about Hugo-related hostility.  Speculation is welcome in the comments section.

 

Leave a Reply

