Nebula Awards vs Planetary Awards

Over the weekend, the Nebula Awards nominees for 2015 were announced. You’ll notice that there is no overlap between those books and the nominees for the 2015 Planetary Awards. I’ve been brainstorming possible reasons:

1) Either the authors who vote in the Nebula Awards or the bloggers who vote in the Planetary Awards have crawled so far into their own navels that they can’t identify the best stories.

2) The publishing industry managed to promote (or apply pressure) to the Nebula voters.

3) So many books are published each year that results are semi-random, as each voter can only track a small percentage of the available offerings.

4) The small voting base in the Planetary Awards skewed its results.

Let me know your opinion by voting in the poll below, or by posting a comment. Also, post a comment if you’ve read any of the Nebula nominees — are they award-worthy?

6 comments

  1. Two different worlds 🙂

  2. Probably a combination of a lot of factors. Small sample size, sure, plus I think book bloggers are more likely to champion lesser known works. And, of course, the conspiracy theories that the Nebulas are an insider publisher award. But until the “small sample size” aspect is addressed, it will be difficult to speculate on the others.

  3. Too many books!
    Which is probably what will be written on my grave… 😀 😀
    But, seriously, I can count on the fingers of one hand the Nebula nominees I’ve read – although a few more are on my reading queue – so I vote for two of the authors I’ve actually read, N.K. Jemisin and Mary Robinette Kowal.

  4. I never seem to read any of the Nebula nominees each year. Not sure why, but it is just a fact. Can’t say I’ve lacked reading material though.

  5. Better than the Kitschies. I hadn’t even heard of most of the nominees.

  6. I think it’s probably a combination of all but the navel gazing :-). I voted for too many books – not that there are too many books, but that it’s an impossible job to read and rank them.

Leave a Reply

