Maps of the World

If I’m at my computer without a specific task to perform, I’m likely to create strange things. Today, it was these maps. I decided to upload them in case they might spark a story idea in an author or roleplaying gamer.

For those of you who’ve wondered what the world would be like with eight Japans:

Eight Japans 33

Or, perhaps you’d prefer four North Americas:

Four Americas 50

I guess I should’ve found a map that went all the way to the equator, for a slightly larger South American beach ball. The first thing I thought when I looked at this finished map: “what are they going to do with all that Canadian maple syrup?” I immediately answered my own question — they will design maple syrup-powered automobiles.

14 comments

  1. Lol – I love the idea of maple syrup-powered automobiles. Perhaps the new genre can be called Syrupunk?

    1. The characters should wear hockey jerseys….

      1. Oh, that goes without saying šŸ˜€

  2. Anonymous · · Reply

    Commander, effective immediately HQ has dropped your allocated iops by 50% for this quarter.

    1. IOPS? I don’t need no stinkin’ IOPS!

  3. “maple syrup-powered automobiles”, I like this idea. I like it a lot. šŸ˜€

    1. They had sugar-powered vehicles in Brazil the last time I was there.

  4. Maple syrup? Would that be the origin of the phrase “a sweet ride”? šŸ˜€

    (yes, I know, that was awful….)

    1. The mechanics will get tired of customers telling them something is sticky.

  5. Interesting Rorsach patterns you’ve ended up with there… I see a very confused Godzilla in the first one and a vortex at the center of the world in the second.

    1. I see a space invader in the North American map – its forehead is the Atlantic Ocean, and its eyes are Hispaniola.

  6. How unique and beautiful. I love maps and globes, comparing them as borders and names change, and drawing them for my fantasy worlds. Fun post šŸ™‚

    1. I enjoy looking at old maps, I have some from before WWII when a huge portion of the world was made up of European colonies, and one of the maps on my wall still has the Soviet Union.

      1. I can so relate. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

