Movie: Edge of Tomorrow

Edge_of_Tomorrow_Poster  

Royal CrownRoyal CrownRoyal CrownRoyal Crown

Four Royal Crowns
(4 out of 4 rating)

A spoiler-free blog post for people who haven’t seen the movie

This is the first movie review here at PDC. As you may know, PDC is currently headquartered in a non-western country, and either because the country isn’t considered important in Hollywood, or due to the fear of piracy, or because the government censors take so long to remove all the good parts, PDC usually can’t see a film until several months after its western release. With “Edge of Tomorrow”, we got lucky and saw it today. Since I’m trying to avoid spoilers, I probably won’t be able to write anything insightful or intelligent, but let’s give this a shot anyway:

I didn’t have high expectations going into the theater. I think this was mostly due to movie posters featuring the girl with the sword. Any time a movie is set on a modern or futuristic battlefield with machine guns and missiles and such, but a sword is the featured weapon, I am starting to tune out. Sure, there are examples where this didn’t ruin the movie: a trained Jedi with a lightsaber in “Star Wars” can block pew pew gunshots, immortals in “Highlander” can only die by decapitation (although I was disappointed none of them ever invented some kind of decapitation gun), and “Dune” had force fields that only slower-moving objects could move through. Fortunately, the sword played a very minor part in “Edge of Tomorrow”, so it wasn’t an issue.

I had also heard a little about the movie before going in, and knew it contained a specific sub-genre of science fiction (don’t read the tags at the bottom of this post if knowing which one would be a spoiler for you). Let’s just say that this particular sub-genre is an easy one to screw up, so I was worried. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that, once I accepted the initial premise, the story didn’t have major plot holes.

The film has plenty of alien-blasting action (not a spoiler, as the invasion by aliens is revealed in the opening credits). This is my favorite type of blasting action, since the heroes get to unleash spectacular firepower, but when they’re shooting at bugs or squid, there’s no need for that little twinge of remorse you might get if humans had been the targets. It’s one of the reasons I enjoyed “Starship Troopers” so much.

In addition to the action, there’s a bit of a mystery and some thinking/speculating to be done as you’re watching, but again I can’t say anything due to potential spoilage. There is also some humor in the film. There are funny moments where someone is shot in the head with a pistol or run over by a truck. I promise, I’m not a sociopath, you’ll just have to see the film to understand how that could be funny. Or, if you don’t see the film, you’ll continue thinking I’m a sociopath.

If you’ve seen the film, leave a comment below with your thoughts. Spoilers are fine in the comments section, so reader beware.

11 comments

  1. scrbwly · · Reply

    i saw it yesterday. i agree with your sentiments here, most of them anyway 🙂

  2. I want to see this one! Love time travel sci-fi (provided it’s done well and not full of plot holes, like you said). Generally I’m not a Tom Cruise fan but he seems to pick good sci-fi films to star in… Minority Report is still one of my favourites.

    1. I think he does a good job portraying his character; the movie provides a great example of a character changing over the course of a story, but not in a contrived/forced manner.

  3. I’m so glad to hear that there are no major plot holes! Looking forward to seeing this one.

    1. Let me know if you spot any plot holes I missed!

  4. I’m not sure whether I’ll get to the movie — it’s just a busy month around these parts — although at least the commercials and such make it look interesting. Also Tom Cruise’s appearance has me wondering, wasn’t he already a grown-up thirty years ago? Shouldn’t he look older than this? But if he’s working on time-travel I guess that covers a lot.

  5. My friend, who is a Tom Cruise hater, enjoyed it immensely. She was giggling every time. I do think the ending could have been lopped off to make it stronger, but I hear Tom chose it himself — and it didn’t bother me so much, really. Just a small Hollywoodizing.

    1. Yes, I agree there were some weaknesses in the ending. I can think of a couple of alternatives that I would have found more enjoyable.

  6. gutenbergsson · · Reply

    I just finished the book this film was based on, “All you need is Kill” by Hiroshi Sakurazaka, and must say that while I thoroughly enjoyed the film, the book has a much darker ending that simply made more sense. The author also goes on to explain why the characters use those huge swords, and it’s a very credible explanation. I think this is one of those situations where both the film and the book are executed quite well, even though they end quite differently.

    1. I haven’t read it, perhaps I will someday. I would like to see a different ending…

Leave a Reply

